All Faculty, Staff

Lizette A. Burks

Lizette A. Burks

Director Secondary Sci. Ed.

Arkansas Academy for Educational Equity


(CIED)-Curriculum and Instruction

Phone: 479-575-3208

Download vcard


Dr. Lizette Burks is the founding Director of Secondary Science Education for the Arkansas Academy for Educational Equity in the College of Education and Health Professions at the University of Arkansas. Dr. Burks has been committed to broadening student engagement in K-12 STEM education by promoting equity as a central component in science education innovation. Dr. Burks teaches graduate courses for the Academy and leads direction for equity-focused science education innovation. Her research interests are focused on examining culturally expansive science instruction.

Prior to joining the Academy, Dr. Burks served as the K-12 State Science Education Supervisor for the Kansas State Department of Education supporting implementation of the Next Generation Science Standards curriculum, instruction, and assessments state-wide. Dr. Burks served as co-principal investigator of the Advancing Coherent and Equitable Systems of Science Education NSF grant with the Council of State Science Supervisors. Burks was a member of the equity panel for Design, Selection, and Implementation of Instructional Materials for the Next Generation Science Standards, a workshop convened by the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine Board on Science Education, promoting culturally expansive science instruction.

Earlier in her career, Dr. Burks coordinated K-12 science education curriculum and instruction district-wide for a larger school district in Kansas and served as a science teacher in Texas and Kansas at the high school and middle school levels for eight years. Dr. Burks served on the board of directors for the Kansas Association for Conservation and Environmental Education, Kansas Association for Teachers of Science, and the Kansas State Science and Engineering Fair.

While in her doctoral program, Dr. Burks was awarded the William S. LaShier Scholarship for graduate study in elementary science education and graduated with distinction, after defending her dissertation with honors. 

  • Ed.D.   University of Kansas, Curriculum & Instruction, 2017
  • M.Ed.   Emporia State University, Teaching, 2013
  • B.S.    Texas Tech University, Biology, 2005