General Information

Departments and Programs

The University of Arkansas College of Education and Health Professions comprises four academic departments and a school as well as its Honors Program. COEHP includes 22 research and service units, offers 48 degrees, 12 certificates and has over 190 faculty members on our teaching staff. We prepare professionals who touch people's lives every day. The professional education unit of the college has been a part of the University of Arkansas since 1871 when the land-grant institution was founded in Fayetteville. The college's mission of preparing educators at all levels expanded over the years to include academic departments that focus on the health and well-being of Arkansans and people everywhere.

Academic Departments and School

Our faculty have been recruited from benchmark institutions to collaborate with veteran faculty members on research to improve student achievement as well as the health of the public. These faculty members work closely with students, using advanced technology found in the college's classrooms and through online delivery.  Our students are involved in research and become leaders in education, nursing, communication disorder, health sciences and human resource development.

Our graduates teach children from preschool through college, help deliver babies and provide care and comfort to the elderly.  They direct recreational programs that boost health and rejuvenate the spirit, and they help those who have lost the power of speech to regain it.

The college is the second largest college at the UofA with the largest graduate enrollment and is committed to fulfilling the university's mission as a nationally competitive, student-centered research university serving Arkansas and the world.